Florida Rules · The Boathouse
Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card: Who Needs It, How to Get It, What It Costs
It is not a license, it does not come from a road test, and FWC will not tell you what it costs. Here is what the statute and the approved-course list actually say.
By The Outpost CrewUpdated 6 min read

If you were born on or after January 1, 1988, Florida requires you to carry a Boating Safety Education Identification Card, plus photographic ID, to operate a vessel powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or greater — § 327.395, Fla. Stat. (2026). Not a license. Not a test at a state office. A card you earn by passing an approved boating safety course, and one of the approved courses is free.
The rule is written by birth date, not by boat. It follows you onto a friend’s pontoon, a rented center console out of Fort Myers Beach, and every personal watercraft (PWC) on this coast, because they all clear 10 horsepower.
Here is who needs it, what proof counts, how to earn it in an afternoon, and the six exemptions worth knowing before you assume you are covered.
Who needs the card?
Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988. As of September 2026, that is everyone under about 38, and the cutoff never moves forward — it is a fixed date in the statute, so every year the share of operators who need the card grows.
The requirement attaches to the operator. Ownership is irrelevant. The person with their hand on the throttle is the person who needs the card, which means the friend you let drive your boat back to the ramp needs one, and so does your 15-year-old on the family PWC.
It applies to any vessel powered by 10 horsepower or more. In practice that means everything you would call a boat around here except a kayak, a canoe, and a paddleboard.
What Florida accepts as proof
§ 327.395(2), Fla. Stat. (2026) lists the documents that satisfy the rule, and the list is broader than most riders expect:
| Accepted document | Notes |
|---|---|
| Florida Boating Safety Education ID Card | Issued by FWC after an approved course |
| Florida driver license or ID card showing the designation | The designation is printed on the license itself |
| Another state’s boating safety education card | Snowbirds who got carded up north are covered |
| Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Card | Recognized by name in the statute |
| International Certificate of Competency | Recognized by name in the statute |
| Temporary certificate from an approved course | Valid up to 90 days per FWC |
All of them come with the same second half: photographic identification. The card alone is not compliance.
How to get one
Pass an FWC-approved boating safety course. FWC, Boater Safety Courses (accessed September 2026) lists five classroom providers — At the Helm Training, Best Boat Club, Masters Boating School, the U.S. Coast Guard Auxiliary, and the United States Power Squadrons — alongside 14 approved online providers.
Most people take an online course. It runs a few hours, ends in an exam, and can be finished across two evenings or one rainy Sunday. When you pass, the course completion certificate serves as your temporary means of complying while the permanent card is issued. FWC states the temporary certificate is valid for up to 90 days from the day you complete the course and pass the exam.
A classroom course is the better choice for one type of person: the buyer who has never been on the water at all. Sitting in a room with a Coast Guard Auxiliary instructor who will answer follow-up questions about markers and right-of-way is worth the Saturday morning.
What does the card cost?
Two different costs, and Florida is only transparent about one of them.
| Course option | Cost on FWC’s approved list |
|---|---|
| BoatUS online course | Free |
| Florida Virtual School (Florida residents, ages 12–18) | Free |
| Other approved online providers | Roughly $20 to $80 |
| Classroom courses | Set by the individual provider |
The card itself is the honest gap. FWC’s Boating Safety Education page (accessed September 2026) does not state a fee for the card, and § 327.395 does not set one. Every page you will find claiming a specific dollar figure is quoting something we could not confirm at a primary source today, so we are not repeating it. Take the free BoatUS course, and ask FWC what, if anything, the card costs when you apply.
What the card does not do
It is worth being clear about the limits, because a card in the wallet makes people assume more coverage than they have.
It is not a license, and it is not a permit to skip anything else. The vessel still has to be titled and registered, with the numbers and decal displayed — that is a separate errand at the county tax collector, covered in our registration and titling guide.
It does not lower the age floors. A carded 15-year-old may operate a personal watercraft the family owns, because the operating floor is 14. That same carded 15-year-old cannot rent one anywhere in Florida, because the livery floor is 18. Both numbers are in the PWC rules explainer.
It does not carry the equipment for you. Life jackets worn rather than stowed, the engine cutoff lanyard attached, a sound device aboard — the education card has no bearing on any of it. The list is in what you must carry on a PWC.
It is not a commercial credential. Carrying passengers for hire is a federal matter, not something a state boating safety course covers.
The exemptions
§ 327.395(6), Fla. Stat. (2026) lists them. Six are worth committing to memory:
- Accompanied by a qualified adult. Someone 18 or older who holds the card or is exempt is aboard and attendant to the operation. Aboard is the operative word.
- Within 90 days of purchase. With the bill of sale aboard showing the date. This is why a new owner can ride the weekend they take delivery.
- Within 90 days of completing an approved course. The temporary-certificate window.
- Nonresidents carrying proof of completing another state’s approved course.
- A person licensed by the U.S. Coast Guard as a master of a vessel.
- Private lakes and ponds.
The first exemption is the one that gets misread on sandbars every spring. A card-holding adult standing in waist-deep water is not accompanying anybody.
What changed in 2025 and 2026
Lucy’s Law (ch. 2025-197, Laws of Fla. — SB 628), effective July 1, 2025, amended § 327.395 itself along with the reckless-operation, accident-reporting, and livery sections. Among its changes: boater education became mandatory for convicted violators. The education card stopped being purely a front-end requirement and became part of the consequence.
The Boater Freedom Act (ch. 2025-35, Laws of Fla. — SB 1388), same effective date, stopped stops made solely to conduct a safety inspection without probable cause and created the Florida Freedom Boater decal, issued at registration or renewal on a showing of equipment compliance — § 327.70, Fla. Stat. (2026). Nothing in it repeals the education requirement. It changes the odds that a card check happens on a random Saturday, not whether you are supposed to have one.
Why the card is not just paperwork
FWC’s 2025 Boating Accident Statistical Report found that 55 percent of the operators involved in Florida boating accidents that year — 488 of 890 — had no boater education. Statewide there were 694 reportable accidents and 51 deaths. Lee County recorded 44 of those accidents and seven deaths, third-highest of any county in Florida, against roughly 48,600 registered recreational vessels (FWC, Boating Accident Statistical Reports, accessed September 2026).
The leading causes read like a syllabus for the course: operator inattention, no proper lookout, and inexperience. Bonita Springs sits between two of the busiest stretches of water in that report. Three hours online is a reasonable trade.
The crew’s take
Do it before delivery day, not after. The 90-day purchase exemption is real, but it turns into a deadline you forget about while you are busy learning the machine, and the fall is exactly when the water here gets good.
If you are carding a household, do it together — the operator rule catches teenagers and spouses, not just the person who signed the paperwork. Then read the PWC-specific rules for the age limits and night restriction, what you have to carry aboard, and how to register and title the boat once it is yours. More of it lives in The Boathouse.
Laws current as of September 2026; verify with FWC/FLHSMV before you ride or launch. General information, not legal advice.
Power Lodge Florida, 28470 S Tamiami Trail — live inventory and today's price.
Quick answers
- Who needs a Florida boating safety education card?
- Anyone born on or after January 1, 1988 who operates a vessel powered by a motor of 10 horsepower or greater. That covers every personal watercraft and nearly every outboard boat. You carry the card and photo identification while operating.
- Is the Florida boater safety card the same as a boating license?
- No. Florida does not issue a boating license. The card certifies that you passed an approved boating safety course. It is an education credential, and the statute sets no test at a state office and no road-test equivalent.
- How much does the Florida boating safety card cost?
- FWC does not state a card fee on its safety education page. The cost you control is the course: FWC lists a free BoatUS option and a free Florida Virtual School course for residents aged 12 to 18, with paid online providers up to about eighty dollars. Confirm current fees with FWC.
- Does the Florida boating safety card expire?
- FWC does not state an expiration date on its safety education page, and section 327.395 contains no renewal provision. The temporary course completion certificate is different: it is valid for up to 90 days. Treat the permanent card as a document to keep, and confirm status with FWC.
- Do I need the card if I just bought my boat?
- Not for the first 90 days. Section 327.395 exempts an operator within 90 days of purchase who has the bill of sale aboard showing the date. Take the course inside that window rather than letting it lapse.
- Does an out-of-state boater card work in Florida?
- Yes. Florida accepts a boating safety education card issued by another state, a Canadian Pleasure Craft Operator Card, and an International Certificate of Competency. Nonresidents carrying proof of another state approved course are also exempt.


